Your current location:Home >> Government >> Foreign Affairs >> Foreign Affairs Update
Yang Confers Honorary Citizenship and Magnolia Gold Award

    On September 30, the ceremonies conferring 2014 Shanghai Honorary Citizenship and Magnolia Gold Award were hosted in the City Hall. Two foreign nationals were conferred the title of Honorary Citizens of Shanghai and nine were awarded Magnolia Gold Award. Mayor Yang Xiong presented the badges and certificates to the winners and had a meeting with the honorary citizens.

    Executive Vice Mayor Tu Guangshao addressed the awarding ceremony and was present at the meeting, so was Vice Chairwoman Zhong Yanqun of the Standing Committee of the Shanghai Municipal People’s Congress.

    Honorary Citizenship is the highest honor Shanghai presents to foreign nationals. Starting from 1997, a total of 37 were honored as such. During his meeting with this year’s honorees, Majdi Bader Abulaban, Senior Global VP and Asia Pacific President of Delphi and Mykola Bytsko, Senior Expert of Shanghai Aircraft Design and Research Institute, Yang thanked both for their outstanding contribution to Shanghai’s socio-economic development and international cooperation. He said, “Shanghai is an open and inclusive city in pursuit of further reform and opening up, and it looks forward to business and academic leaders participating in Shanghai’s development and fulfill their own dreams.”

    A total of 278 winners of Magnolia Gold Award had been honored since its inception in 1993. This year’s winners include business managers, scholars, researchers and cultural ambassadors. They are Maria Cruz Alonso, Overseas Council Member of Shanghai International Cultural Association, Yudong Chen, President of Bosch (China) Investment, Jong Rang Choi, CEO of E. Land Group China, Ben Magil Cornish, Prologis Global Senior Vice President and China President, Owen James Evers, Senior Advisor of Shanghai Aircraft Design and Research Institute, Klaus Hartig, President of Fuchs Lubricants Regional Headquarters (East Asia), Henricus Bernardus Nieuwenhuijs, Executive Consultant of Vestone Capital Shanghai, Jan Baptist Van Der Borght, Chief Delegate of Antwerp Port Authority China Representative Office, and Niyazi Faruk Arig, President of Greater China, Henkel (China) Investment. Hartig spoke at the ceremony on behalf of all the award winners.