Your current location:Home >> Government >> Foreign Affairs >> Foreign Affairs Update
Honors List of “Honorary Citizen of Shanghai” and “Magnolia Gold Award” 2015 Announced
    On September 30, the presentation ceremony for the title of “Honorary Citizen of Shanghai” and the “Magnolia Gold Award” was held at the Shanghai Municipal Government Hall. Two foreigners were honored with the title of “Honorary Citizen of Shanghai” and eleven others with the “Magnolia Gold Award”.
    Mayor Yang Xiong presented the medals and certificates to the recipients of the honors this year and met with the Honorary Citizens of Shanghai. Tu Guangshao, executive vice-mayor of Shanghai, made remarks on behalf of the Shanghai Municipal Government, and he and Zhong Yanqun, vice-chairwoman of the Standing Committee of the Shanghai Municipal People’s Congress, were present at the meeting between Mayor Yang Xiong and the new Honorary Citizens of Shanghai.
    The title of “Honorary Citizen of Shanghai” is the highest honor Shanghai gives out in commendation of foreigners. Dhanin Chearavanont, chairman of CP Group in Thailand, and Joan Clos Matheu, under secretary-general of the United Nations and executive director of the United Nations Human Settlements Program, have received the honor this year. While meeting Dhanin Chearavanont, Mayor Yang Xiong expressed sincere thanks to him for his outstanding contributions to Shanghai’s economic and social development and external ties over the years. He said that Shanghai is currently stepping up building itself into an international economic, financial, trade and shipping center and a globally influential scientific & technological center and that opportunities are arising from deepening reform and expanding opening up at the China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone. He welcomes fine enterprises at home and abroad to be a part of it and achieve common growth.
    The eleven foreign recipients of the Magnolia Gold Award include leading lights in businesses and institutions of higher learning and ones who have made prominent contributions in the financial, sports and health areas. They are Siu Luen Au, CEO of Citi China and chairman & president of Citibank (China) Co.,Ltd., Emery Ray Brautigan, CEO of Shanghai United Family Hospital and Clinics, Shu Ting Chang, professor of Department of Biology, University of Hong Kong, Tzu-Yin Chiu, CEO & executive director of Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corporation, Jeffrey Sean Lehman, vice chancellor of Shanghai New York University, Michael Andres Luevano, executive director of International Division, Shanghai JUSS Event Management Co.,Ltd., Alexis Georges Charles Perakis-Valat, executive vice-president Asia Pacific & China CEO of L’Oreal Group, David Garth Preston, chairman & CEO of Boehringer Ingelheim Greater China Area, Paul Yu Hay Siu, general manager of Clients, Industries & Markets, Deloitte China, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Certified Public Accountants LLP, Rangarajan Vellamore Rathangapani, CEO of Infosys Technologies (China) Company Limited, and Xudong Yin, chairman of Novartis Group (China). David Garth Preston spoke on behalf of all the recipients. 
    Shanghai Magnolia Award was established in 1989. Up to now, 39 foreigners have received the title of “Honorary Citizen of Shanghai”, 289 the “Magnolia Gold Award” and 1,009 the “Magnolia Silver Award”.