Your current location:Home >> City News
Mayor briefs a CPPCC Shanghai Committee meeting on city's development

    Shanghai Mayor Ying Yong briefed the 39th session of the Standing Committee of the 12th Shanghai Committee of the Chinese Peoples Political Consultative Conference on December 22 on the citys social and economic development.

    Wu Zhiming, chairman of the CPPCC Shanghai Committee, presided over the meeting; Shi Xiaolin, minister of the United Front Work Department of the CPC Shanghai Committee, explained the list of recommended members for the 13th CPPCC Shanghai Committee.

    Ying said that development of Shanghais economy in 2017 has been stable and better than expected; the reforms and innovations have taken effect, and peoples lives have kept improving.

    Next year is crucial for carrying out the 13th Five-year Plan, Ying added. Shanghai needs to implement the spirit of the 19th CPC National Congress and President Xi Jinpings directions to develop Shanghais economy, strengthen innovation, stress institutional supply, and keep securing Shanghais leading position in reforms and innovation.

    Shanghai should deepen the functions of the Free Trade Zone; accelerate construction of the technology and innovation center; deepen the supply-side reforms; improve peoples livelihood; speed up the rural-urban integration; and protect the environment.

    Ying said in the 3.0 version of the FTZ, 98 key tasks will be completed in next year. Shanghai will also build the Free Trade Port and introduce reforms to facilitate clearance process.

    China International Import Expo will be held next year in Shanghai. With the support of the Ministry of Commerce, Shanghai will hold a successful CIIE as well as a successful Hongqiao Trade Forum in 2018, Ying said.

    Ying also briefed the session on housing systems, advancement of Shanghais urban refined management, and on strengthening the environmental protection.

    After group discussion, the attendees of the meeting reached a consensus on selecting 822 candidate members of the 13th CPPCC Shanghai Committee.

    The meeting also examined and approved several other documents related to the transition between the current and the next CPPCC Shanghai Committee.

    Vice Chairmen of the CPPCC Shanghai Committee Jiang Ping, Zhao Wen, Zhou Hanmin, Cai Wei, Fang Huiping, and Xu Yibo also attended the meeting.